• 09:45 Welcome by Jean-Claude Thébault, Director General of the Bureau of European Policy Advisors (BEPA), European Commission

  • 09:52 Keynote address - José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission

  • 10:31 The future of EMU: Deepening the debate

    • Olli Rehn, Vice-President of the European Commission and member of theCommission responsible for Economic and Monetary Affairs and the Euro

    • Jeroen Dijsselbloem, President of the Eurogroup and Minister of Finance,the Netherlands

    • Vitor Gaspar, Minister of Finance, Portugal

    Moderator: Stephen Fidler, Brussels

  • 11:58 Economic governance: Restoring confidence and anchoring stability

    Presentation: Marco Buti, Director-General ECFIN, European Commission

    Panel members:

    • Sharon Bowles MEP, Chair of the Economic and Monetary AffairsCommittee, European Parliament

    • Professor Dariusz Rosati MP, Chairman of the Public Finance Committee,Sejm of the Republic of Poland

    • Jorge Sicilia, Chief Economist, BBVA

    • Holger Schmieding, Chief Economist, Berenberg Bank, London

    Moderator: Peter Spiegel, Brussels Bureau Chief, Financial Times

  • 14:34 Banking Union: Towards a more stable, competitive and resilient banking sector

    Presentation: Olivier Guersent, Head of Cabinet to Commissioner Barnier

    Panel members:

    • Marianne Thyssen MEP• Kai Jan Krainer MP, Budget and Finance Spokesperson, Social DemocraticParty, Nationalrat, Austria

    • Andrea Enria, Chairperson of the European Banking Authority

    • Yves Mersch, Member of the Executive Board of theEuropean Central Bank

    Moderator: Caroline de Gruyter, Brussels Correspondent, NRC Handelsblad

  • 15:55 Democratic legitimacy and accountability: Reinforcing at all levels

    Presentation: Johannes Laitenberger,Head of Cabinet to President Barroso

    Panel members:

    • Roberto Gualtieri MEP

    • Rait Maruste MP, Chairman of the Constitutional Committee, Riigikogu,Estonia

    • Professor Miguel Poiares Maduro, Minister for Regional Development,Portugal

    • Pierre Kroll, Belgian political commentator and cartoonist

    Moderator: Professor Brigid Laffan, School of Politics and InternationalRelations, University College, Dublin